+ Reply to Thread

Thread: DE filter backwash (newbie)

Default DE filter backwash (newbie)

Hi,

I just bought a home that has an in-ground pool with a Hayward DE filter (60 sq ft filter surface). 2hp Hayward single-speed pump. By my yardstick measurements, pool volume is approx 25,000 gallons. The home is seven years old, and I believe the pool equipment is roughly the same age.

I backwashed for the first time today. Pressure reading prior to backwash was 22 psi. I backwashed for about 2.5 minutes (until it looked like the water was relatively clear). The filter calls for 7.5 lbs of DE. The home's previous owner told me he usually added 5 lbs of DE after a backwash, so that's what I did this time. Pressure reading after backwash is 18 psi.

Am I in the ballpark here? I was expecting a bigger drop in pressure after the backwash, but I have no prior experience as a pool owner.

Thanks,

hikernut
    Last edited by hikernut; 07-20-2012 at 02:10 AM.

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Default Re: DE filter backwash (newbie)

If the pool has been clean and clear, it takes a very long time to build up "back-washable" gunk in the filter--I usually only backwash my pool 3-4 times a year, unless I have an algae bloom or something, so that pressure of 18 psi may very well be a good "clean" pressure.

When you turn the pump off, does the gauge go to zero? And then does it consistently come back up to the same number when you turn the pump on? If so, then the gauge would appear to work and I would think your pressure reading is fine. I'm sure some of the other DE filter folks will chime in with opinions (I have a sand filter) but I think it's okay.
    Janet

My post backwash pressure is 12psi. I backwash when it climbs to 20psi.