+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hayward Heater - repairing the heat exchanger

Default Hayward Heater - repairing the heat exchanger

Hi All,
    Just curious... has anyone attempted a repair (trickling water) on a Hayward heat exchanger? If so, how did you do it and what did you use?

Thanks in advance!

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Hayward Heater - repairing the heat exchanger

Quote Originally Posted by Jake_2012 View Post
    has anyone attempted a repair (trickling water) on a Hayward heat exchanger?
    It's unlikely.

You could repair it with silver solder if the hole is not too close to the headers. But hardly any pool guys know how to work with that stuff, and presumably any that do, have sense enough not to try. Because I'm a plumber, I could, but I wouldn't be willing to do so, because the odds are that if it has a hole in one spot, it nearly has a hole in several other spots. If I did it for you, I'd end up charging you a couple hundred to get access and stuff, but then would have to worry it would fail a week later, and you'd want your money back 'because I didn't fix the leak'.

So, the only guys who'd try such a repair are either homeowners with skills, or idiots.

You'd be better off with a new heater, or at least, a new header. BUT, learn your pool chemistry first. 90% of the header leaks I've seen were caused by mismanaged pool chemistry.

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the reply! Yeah, that's why I said "attempted", It sure doesn't look easy with all the fins and stuff. I'm a pretty good DIY'er with knowledge of plumbing, electrical, framing and trim work (I worked for a contractor for years)... Anyway, I rerouted the filter systems pvc piping to bypass the heater. I'll probably take the heat exchanger out of the unit this weekend and inspect it.