+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Brown water after brushing

Default Brown water after brushing

I am new to pools, but I am helping a friend try to get an inground pool (~30,000 gallons) from dark muddy brown to clear.
    I was doing pretty good too. Last week it was black; I cleared out all the leaves, added lots of chlorine, floc and did lots of vacuuming. This morning it was pretty darn clear water.

I tested the water and balanced the pH, alkalinity and brought the chlorine up to a suitable range.
    This afternoon however, I noticed that the walls still had a grimy film on them that didn't come off with the vacuum. So, I brushed the walls, hoping to losen the junk. When I came back in a couple of hours, the entire pool was muddy brown again! What happened?! Will it go away? What should I do? Help!

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Default Re: Brown water after brushing

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

We're going to need to know a LOT more about the pool before we can answer your questions. First, we need some equipment information--if you would take a few seconds and fill out this chart, it will help...
    Pool Chart Entry Form
    Pool Chart Results

Second, we need to know test results on your water, taken with a drop-based kit (no strips!). "Balanced the pH, alkalinity and brought the chlorine up to a suitable range" doesn't really tell us what we need to know.

Third, we need to know whether the fill water has metals in it, and we need a list of the chems that have been used in the pool so far (ingredients, please--not just product names like "shock").

If you'll supply that info, we'll be happy to try to help!
    Janet

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars