+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Sand filter vs cartridge type filter

Default Sand filter vs cartridge type filter

Which is better, cheaper, more maintenance free? I just put a new pool on layaway and it came with the cartridge type filter. Now all my buddies are saying sand is cheaper and better. Seemed to me that the cartridge was easier and more maintenance free. Also a little cheaper.

Anyway, I am new to this pool stuff -like really "green". So, is the sand better? Does the cartridge type not clean the pool as well? Should I change to a sand filter?

So, in case pool size matters, I bought a 15x26 Quest pool from The Great Escape. 54" deep. Came with all kinds of crap that I have no idea about. -Solar cover, start-up kit, Premium maint. kit, etc....

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Default Re: Sand filter vs cartridge type filter

Either type of filter has its advantages. Cartridge filters, if filtering a clean, clear pool, probably do the best job--they filter smaller particles than a sand filter. However, they don't work worth a flip if you're trying to clear up an algae bloom, because live algae clogs them up quickly, and you have to stay on top of cleaing them to keep your pump from burning up. They are also typically mismatched with the pump (pump being too large) when coming from the factory. Cleaning the cartridges can be a PITA, and must be done on a regular basis. MOst people keep one in the filter working, while the other is out being cleaned.