+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Pump Doesn't Pump....Just Hums

Default Pump Doesn't Pump....Just Hums

Hey folks,

Just bought a house with an IG pool (and I'm new to pools). I'm trying to open it for the summer. I've removed the return jet caps and put in the eyeballs. Replaced the skimmer basket.

I filled the pump with water (Hayward SuperPump), but when I start it, it seems like nothing is happening. The return jets aren't spraying any water. The Filter's (Hayward EC-65 DE) gauge doesn't change pressure. But the pump does start humming, so I know it's on.

I've tried both with the filters air bleeder open and with it closed.

I googled the problem and found one site that said if the pump hums but doesn't seem to work that the impeller in the pump is most likely clogged and you should unclog it by hand. However, on this pump it seems the empeller is enclosed and you can't reach it by hand.

Is the problem truly the impeller, and if so, how do I unclog it?

Thanks a ton!

Default Re: Pump Doesn't Pump....Just Hums

Take the basket out of the pump. Stick your finger in the hole at the bottom of the pump. You should be able to feel the impeller. If it spins freely then you know the problem isn"t a blocked impeller.

Can't seem to reach the impeller...just the diffuser. Before I try to open it, the owner's manual said that if the motor hums but does not run, then look for these 2 things:

1. Governor is stuck in open position
    2. Open Capacitor

I don't know what either of those mean. Do you guys know what those mean and how I can check them?

Thx!
    Last edited by NullQwerty; 05-22-2006 at 11:33 PM.

Poconos is offline SuperMod Emeritus Whizbang Spinner Poconos 4 stars Poconos 4 stars Poconos 4 stars Poconos 4 stars Poconos 4 stars Poconos 4 stars