+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: White residue on salt water chlorinator cell

Default White residue on salt water chlorinator cell

Hi,

This is my first post here. I am also new to salt water pools, so bear with me please.

I have a 20K gallon salt water pool. The water is currently balanced and crystal clear and everything seems to work except for one problem: I am having this buildup of white residue on the salt chlorinator cell. The housing is clear so I can see the cell. Some of it is clumps I can peel off while some is a layer on the cell itself that only is removed by soaking the cell in vinegar for an hour. I could live with this if I had to clean it once a week or so, but new buildup happens every day so I have to clean the cell every day. That can't be right. Yes, the water here in South Central Texas (USA) is very hard, but I didn't have this problems as extreme as this before. I have also noticed that the buildup only happens on the top of the cell, the side of the cell facing up. Even if I turn it the buildup is on top. I'm pretty sure it's calcium buildup, but why so much and is there a way I can prevent having to clean the cell daily?

Default Re: White residue on salt water chlorinator cell