+ Reply to Thread

Thread: dark green water

Default dark green water

2nd year pool owner, 1st year opening from winter.

Took winter cover off yesterday to find pool in a full algae bloom. Very dark green and cloudy. Barely see bottom in shallow areas. What would be the best way to treat.

Already put some algaecide in pool, and 4 gallons of 12% bleach, and 2 gallons of 10% bleach. Ran filter overnight, no change. Plus vacuumed early this morning on waste mode on filter.

Above ground pool
    27,800 gals
    sand filter - new sand from opening of last summer
    Taylor test kit - reagents from last year but bought in August and used for hot tub over winter.
    Chlorine # is higher then test kit goes which is 5
    Ph 7.2
    Total alkalinity 90

Default Re: dark green water

Hello... I'm newbie here so I'm not going to be much help but wanted to say that I sympathize with you. My situation is similar to yours (albeit, with a smaller pool... 28k gals is huge!), I'm fighting the algae enemy!

I'm also failing to see improvements after shocks.. but my understanding is that we have to keep at it, since it can take easily a week in some instances before getting significant improvements (?). Seems to me that you are doing all the right things.

Do you know the amount of stabilizer (CYA) in your pool? My understanding is that, although it definitely helps maintain a high level of Cl, this can also greatly limit the sanitizing effect of Chlorine if it is too high... Might be worth a look!

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Hi Becca;

If you would, please give us complete info about your pool here:
    Pool Chart Entry Form
    Pool Chart Results
    Also, as Nick correctly noted, we need to know your CYA level, and also your calcium level, before we really dig in.