+ Reply to Thread

Thread: First post - CALCIUM KILLING ME!!!!!

Default First post - CALCIUM KILLING ME!!!!!

I have an above-ground pool (27' round). Started to get mustard algae which I've been battling for a couple of months. BUT now the algae has adhered to the bottom of the pool in what I assume is a "cocoon" of calcium. Feels like sandpaper and WILL NOT BUDGE unless you literally scrape it with hard plastic. Even a wire brush barely dents it. Is pretty much coating the entire bottom in a yellowish-brown thick scale (some areas worse than others).

I've drained the pool down to about 4 inches with the intention of scrubbing the heck out of it but this just isn't working. I have no idea what to do...I'm literally on my hands and knees working on it inch by inch. Is there something I can add to the remaining water that will soften this stuff or should I just fill it with gasoline and set it on fire?

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: First post - CALCIUM KILLING ME!!!!!

I don't really have a good suggestion for you but I have asked Ben to take a look at your post and see if he has anything for you to try. Good luck and welcome to the Pool Forum.

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Is what you have like this? (PS: don't tear up your liner scraping -- that's not the way to remove this stuff. If what's shown below is NOT like what you have, since pictures to poolforum@gmail.com)

--

Last edited by PoolDoc; 05-27-2012 at 04:58 PM.

Not really. It looks more like a normal soft layer of yellow/brown algae but it won't budge. Feels like sandpaper. Will scrape off with hard plastic (like a piece of PVC pipe). It will stick to the PVC and looks and feels like sandy clay.