+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: DE leaks into pool; and filter clamp leaks elsewhere

Default DE leaks into pool; and filter clamp leaks elsewhere

I am having this same problem, my filter is leaking at the clamp and causing the water to flow back through the skimmer into the pool. I thought about the check valve which would stop the back flow but I need the leak stopped. I tried replacing the o ring with lots of lube, but that made it worse. old o ring is back in and clamp is tight but still leaking. I am new to this so don't know much, so I have enlisted the help of a pool company (coming out today). So my questions are what could cause the leak at the clamp and approximately how much should it cost to fix?

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: DE leaks into pool after filter turns off

Absolutely NO idea.

I don't know what filter you have or what what clamp you mean.

But, I'm spinning this off into it's own thread.

It's Hayward pro grid de4820 and leaks at the clamp that holds the two halves of the filter cover together, Sorry I should have given more info to you to help you better understand what I was talking about

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Usually leaks in that location mean:

1. The filter was re-tightened unevenly. On many large clamps like that, you need to tap them with a rubber hammer as you tighten, so the clamp can slide and tighten evenly.
    2. The O-ring has deteriorated.
    3. The groove the O-ring was in OR the O-ring itself was not rinsed 100% clean before re-assembly.

Waterbear can probably think of some other reasons.

BigDave is offline Lifetime Member Whizbang Spinner BigDave 3 stars BigDave 3 stars BigDave 3 stars