+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Green hue in clear water...

Default Green hue in clear water...

Our fiberglass pool with an Aqua Rite salt cell system has a minor start up issue. We had some trouble with the cover at the end of last season. I'll spare you all the details, but due to some pool store issues, we ended up with pinstraw, leaves and other debris in pool over the winter...things that had been avoided the previous year. My thought is that we have a hint of algae. I ordered the TF-100 test kit and these are my current readings...
    FC--2
    CC--6.5 (our pool store is having us run the cell at 90% right now to "clear up the green after a couple weeks")
    TA--120
    CH--210 (as far as I could tell...seemed to turn purple rather than blue...put in a few extra drops after that reading just in case, but the shade of purple stayed the same)

Salt strip showed about 2400---aqua rite recommends 2700-3400...this is my first try with a salt strip.

Tried to test CYA, but the test tube was cracked on the bottom and all the liquid poured out. What was in the bottle seemed pretty clear to me, so I'm not sure what to make of that?

I have no way of testing for metals and the pool place is very laid back and they don't seem to test for metals even when I've mentioned it. I'm a bit of a perfectionist and want to care for our investment to the best of my ability. I want to do what is best for the fiberglass and the salt cell. I love our store, but they seems to think close is good enough...I don't subscribe to that in any area of my life much less with a huge investment like and pool and salt system. I want to get as much life out of it as I can and I know that will require me to maintain proper levels.