+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Just bought a home with a pool... so I'm a newbie. Got some questions

Default Just bought a home with a pool... so I'm a newbie. Got some questions

Just bought a house in Peoria, AZ (in the Phoenix Metro area).

My pool is a plastered pool. It's approximately 15 x 30 ft. and approx 8 ft at the deepest point. So I figure that comes to about 18k gallons?

Anyways, the house was a foreclosure, and the pool was left empty over the summer. Someone told me that I absolutely, positively need to get it replastered...without even looking at it. He went off the fact that the pool was empty through the summer and stated that the plaster is likely ruined. But to me, it looks fairly intact. There are a few hairline, barely noticeable cracks about... and a couple small areas where it looks like I could get away with by just sealing them up or spot-repairing them. But according to one person, regardless of what it looks like...it needs to be replastered. The person who told me this, works for a pool plastering company, so I'm not sure how truthful he may be (trying to sell pool contract jobs).

He stated that if I decide to fill my pool anyway, that dirt and mud would seep into the pool through the cracks of the plaster as water leaks out of the pool...and turn my pool into a swamp.

So I guess my questions are....

Is he right? Or is there a possibility that my pool might still be in servicable condition?

What would happen if a pool needing replastering, were simply ignored...and filled and continued to be used? I ask since I read in other places that replastering is mostly done for cosmetic purposes only.

How much should I expect to pay, (considering I go entry-level), to have it replastered?

Are there any other more economical alternatives? What about pool liners? Is there a liner that can be applied to the pool to reinforce the surface of the pool?