+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I've inherited a mosquito-breeding pool, and need to close it.

Default I've inherited a mosquito-breeding pool, and need to close it.

[Already posted this to another forum, got no responses there yet, trying here]

My situation
    At my workplace, the guy who used to look after the pool and grounds recently died. So, as the nearest able body, his job has been added into mine, and I inherited his work. Because pool care is like computer programming, right? Right.

So, yeah. I'm a computer programmer. I come from the UK. What I know about pools could be written on the back of a postage stamp with a Crayola.

The pool is overhung by trees, and has been mostly left to its own devices since spring: nobody's used it all year because it's been a scowly murk-green.

For the last few weeks, I've been scooping the worst of the leaves off the top, but there's probably a ton of leaf-mold on the bottom, if I could see it. The water's so impenetrably green you could mistake it for mashed cabbage, and if you look too closely at the murky depths, you realize that there are about enough mosquito larvae in there to feed the whole bat population of Austin for a year. And that lots of them have hatched and are flying around. Turns out that while I have developed an immunity to UK mosquitoes, Texan ones give me bites the size of an egg. I now have dozens of them. I look like the elephant man.

So, here're my problems:
    - Texas has a water ban. So, no emptying the pool and refilling it.
    - Apparently the pool will collapse or something if it's just left empty. So I'm not allowed to.
    - There's no company budget to do anything at all to it.
    - I might get away with spending a few bucks of my own, but I don't even know what to do. At the most, my budget is going to be $15/month, though. Money's kinda tight.

What I want to do