+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Dirt coming in through the return

Question Dirt coming in through the return

Hi everyone,
    I hope someone can help me out. I'm sure this has been answered before but as a newbie I'm not allowed to search threads. Anywho I have a Haywood Sand Filter and recently after vacuuming and backwashing and rinsing when I put it back on filter some the dirt comes back through the return. Now this is a recent problem so I was wondering if it was an indication that I need to change the sand. I bought the house with the pool about 5 years ago and never changed the sand, not sure when the last time the previous owners changed it and there's now way to contact them. I don't even know how old the pool or filter is to be honest. Recently I had to buy a new pump cause the old one died and when we opened it up to try and repair it, it was all rusted.

I'm trying to find the least costly method of fixing this problem as we plan on converting to an in ground pool in a couple of years. Thanks

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: Dirt coming in through the return

Hi PoolOwnerT and welcome to the Pool Forum!

Your sand doesn't need replaced. I'm on my 11th season with same sand, one of the other moderators is on year 14 and another on year 9 I think.

Did this problem start after you bought the new pump? What size is your pool (volume), what size is your pump and what size is the filter?

The pool is 15,000 gallons, the filter size is 1.5hp and it's a Hayward Sand Filter Model S-166T with 50PSI max.
    I bought the new pump this season, it's the same size as the old one. It was working fine for about a month when this started happening with the return.

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars