+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Problem removing algae completely

Question Problem removing algae completely

I have been maintaining my own pool for 8 years and had my share of ups and downs, but this time I am stumped! (After reading a little on this forum, I think I have just been lucky in the past.) My current problem is that I cannot get a FC reading no matter how much chlorine I add! And the algae bloom that started last week, has gotten better, but will not go away completely! I get my testing done at local pool store, and foolishly have been following their advice. (Which seems to change depending on which clerk I get!) So I am DONE listening to them! Anyways, here are my latest test results:
    FAC 0; TAC 0; CH 370; CYA 100; TA 120; pH 7.4; TDS 1200; Pho 300
    Temp 85-90 (hey, I am in FL and it's JULY!)

Pool Specs: 12,600 gallons
    Surface: Marcite
    Filter: Hayward De
    2 waterfall returns
    Screened with minimal plants on porch

This afternoon i added 2.5 gallons of LC from pool store (they fill the jugs from their daily shipment)
    after backwashing filter and filling pool for 45-60 minutes fresh water.
    Then it rained quite a bit in the evening. YES!
    Quit using 3" tablets last week.
    So, what do I do next?
    Thanks!

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: Problem removing algae completely

Hi Nancy,
    Do you know what percent sodium hypochlorite your pool store chlorine is? If we know that, we can determine the quantity you need to add to shock your pool to the right level.

Your CYA level may not really be 100. 100 is the highest that the test can differentiate, so it actually may be much higher than that. You basically have two options:

1. Do a partial drain and refill and try and lower your CYA to a more manageable level. (Do NOT totally drain the pool, however.)

OR