+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello all and muratic acid question

Default Hello all and muratic acid question

My name is Bryan Barnard and I live in Nashville, Tn. I have been lurking around on this site for some time now, usually when I am having a problem with my pool, and I finally decided to sign up on the forum. I have a basic 18x40 rectangular shaped pool with a liner. Last summer I converted it over to a SWCG system and I also upgraded the pump to a variable speed Hayward pump.

My question is this: Since converting over to a SWCG system I continually have to monitor the ph levels because they always tend to go over 8. I normally use the ph lowering regent from Leslie's pools but over the weekend I decided to try using muriatic acid. Since this is my first time using muriatic acid is there any ratio that I need to keep in mind so that I do not lower the ph too much?

Thanks,
    Bryan

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Default Re: Hello all and muratic acid question

HI, and welcome to the forum!! Once you give the volume of your pool as Watermom requested, we can help you figure out how much to add. In the meantime, I wanted to warn you that you need to handle muriatic acid carefully--wear gloves, eye protection, and above all, stay upwind of the fumes. I can tell you from experience that one good whiff of the fumes from that stuff will make you seriously believe that you'll never breathe again. If it splashes on your skin, just dunk said skin in the pool to wash it off. If you splash it on concrete, even if you wash it, it will pit--so just be very, very careful.