+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: low pH and TA.. help!!

Default low pH and TA.. help!!

So I am a newbie pool owner. My pool is an above ground (not permanent) 4,000. I don't really understand about the chemicals and what I need to add and how much. Pool has only been up a few weeks and only used 2-3 times due to it raining everyday for the past week or two. So far I have just been using half a bag of shock and 1 inch chlorine tabs. Here are my current levels
    TC: 1
    Bromine: 6
    pH: 6.8
    TA: 40
    Stabilizer: 50

So since the pH was low, I bought some Aqua Chem pH up. I followed the directions and added 8oz. I added it about 5-6hrs ago and have had the pump running ever since. I just went back out to check it and it was still 6.8. What else do I need to do to bring it up? Should I add more pH up, if so how much? Would Borax or Baking Soda be better to add since the TA is low too? If so, much of it do I add. I am kind of on a tight budget so which ever method is cheapest and easiest. Thanks so much for any advice. If you need additional information, ask and I will provide what I can.

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Default Re: low pH and TA.. help!!

OK.
    Your TC and Bromine numbers don't make sense. You are almost certainly not using bromine. When using and OTO test on bromine, the scale is double then when used on chlorine. You either have chlorine or bromine.
    IF your test reads "1" for chlorine, it MUST read "2" for bromine, not 7.