+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Liner Pulling Away

Default Liner Pulling Away

Hey all, I'm relatively new to swimming pools and have operated this pool for 2 years now with fairly good luck. However this spring when i removed my winter cover I was confronted with a liner that looks like it has pulled away in several spots.

I have done some reading including on this forum about "beaded liners" and how to heat them up and stretch them back into position. I think I understand, but wanted to get some input:

1. what type of liner I have (beaded or not)
    2. any other trick that might be helpful?
    3. should this be something I try myself or best left to professional to prevent things from getting worse?
    4. do i need to drain my pool completely to do this repair?

Thanks for all comments.

Shot at 2011-05-31

Shot at 2011-05-31

Shot at 2011-05-31

Shot at 2011-05-31

Shot at 2011-05-31

Default Re: Liner Pulling Away

additional.
    when i got home i pulled off a cap to expose the bead and track.
    i tried pulling the liner (luckily it has been over 30 degrees Celcius today) up to tuck the bead into the channel but it wouldn't seem to stay.
    does anyone have any tricks to get the bead to stay in the groove as i work my way down the edge? Is there supposed to be a plastic strip or something that goes in to hold the liner?

also, there seems to be a lot of air behind the liner especially in the corners (lots of corners) ... is this something i need to be concerned about?
    should i raise the water level first before fixing the liner in the hopes that the water pressure will force out the air?

any tricks or suggestions would be helpful

Shot at 2011-05-31

Shot at 2011-05-31

posguy is offline Registered+ Thread Analyst posguy 0

Im sure others with more experience will chime in...