+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Replacing sand in my sand filter?

Default Replacing sand in my sand filter?

My Hayward s244t sand filter is about 5 years old. I just moved into this house so it is my first year with a pool. My question is... I vaccum the pool and sand is still in my pool.

If I replace my sand will that might stop the sand leaking back into my pool? I thought I read on the Hayward website that sand breaks down after 3-5 years (gets smaller) and it may leak back into your pool.

Has anybody replaced your sand and noticed it stopped leaking back into your pool?

Thanks,

Steve

Watermom is offline SuperMod Emeritus Quark Inspector Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars Watermom 4 stars

Default Re: Replacing sand in my sand filter?

You should not need to replace your sand. Many of us have had the same sand for way more than 5 years and it is fine. What is the size of your pump and filter?

CarlD is offline SuperMod Emeritus Vortex Adjuster CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars CarlD 4 stars

Two things come to mind:
    1) Your "tree" inside your filter is damaged and allowing the sand to push through (looks like an upside umbrella under the sand)
    2) Your pump is too powerful for your filter and is pushing the sand through. This can lead to ...1)

You may have to empty the sand to examine the insides, which are replaceable. But if the pump is too powerful for the filter, then in 5 years you'll have the same problem.
    IF that's the case, then you can
    A) get a bigger filter
    B) get a smaller pump
    C) get a reduced-size impeller installed in the pump to reduce flow. This may be the least expensive alternative.

But that presumes the pump is too big for the filter. (That means it pumps more gallons per minute than the filter is rated to accept).

Carl
    Carl