+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Adjusting chemistry with 100% water replacement

Question Adjusting chemistry with 100% water replacement

Our private swim club has a 100% new water this spring. We have a ~55,000 gal in-ground pool w/ a NEW vinyl liner (thus the water replacement last fall). The pool was built in 1964. The pool was shocked last fall before closing -- I don't remember the chlorine level. The club (a co-op) will be opening the pool this weekend to prepare for Memorial Day swimming. We must pass township inspections for chemistry (chlorine, coliforms, electrical, etc.) the week prior. I am the CPO (Certified Pool Operator) and have taken the course on-line to become a CPO and I am a chemical engineer by training so chemistry isn't new to me. I was the CPO last year but things were pretty much "normal" and I got tips from the former CPO. With the water replacement and not having a commercial company doing the opening, I am sweating getting the chemistry right for swimming and thus opening. We have a DE filter w/ an erosion feeder and we are using tri-chlor tabs. We have a full Taylor DPD test kit (which I am familiar with) except the tube to read CYA (don't ask me where it went and I'm not sure I can replace just the tube - suggestions). All testing chems were stored in my basement for the winter. We don't have a high bather load (many times we are the only family there). Membership is restricted to 40 families.