+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie needs help with pool closing

Question Newbie needs help with pool closing

Newbie here… I stumbled upon this site by accident when I move into a new house that had a existing 12X20 oval above ground pool. I never wanted a pool but thanks to all the nice people here it was actually a very pleasant experience without costing a fortune. In July when I moved in I paid someone to open the pool and it all looked quite easy as really didn’t do much and left me with instructions as what to do over the next week. Well after buying all the expensive chemicals at the local pool store I found you guys and you saved me a bunch and would like to Thank You.
    We now come to closing time and have been trying to read through some of the closing advice and I’m somewhat confused with chemistry, anti freeze, pillows etc… I would like to throw out my plan to you and see what you think.
    Since it’s not a large pool and everything is accessible I cleaned and vacuumed the pool today. The previous owner left a couple of gizmos a pillow that I have to find (if not I planed on using my wife’s AB Ball and something called a orb that is still new in the package. I was just going to back flush the filter below the skimmer and then remove the pump and lines (so I could store it in the garage) so that it drained below the return insert the gizmo throw in the ball and orb then cover. Do I really need to check the chemistry and ad anti freeze? Also should I plug the return line or leave it unplugged.. Thanks in advance for the help. Tom

waste is offline PF Support Team Whizbang Spinner waste 3 stars waste 3 stars waste 3 stars

Smile Re: Newbie needs help with pool closing

Tom, welcome to PF!

You have obviously done your reading and understand what's necessary

If you plan on using the Gizzmo, plug the return line - you can use a rubber - expandable plug ( #9 would work well for this) or a threaded 1 1/2" plug (like a SP 1022 - C) to do the job.