+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Algae - Not sure if I messed up

Default Algae - Not sure if I messed up

New pool owner (just joined the forum today...),

I have a salt water pool and turn off the filter for a few days (it was rainy) and noticed I had some algae. I shocked the pool, treated with algaecide and was left with a cloudy blue pool.

The pool store instructions said use a clarifier Floc and I followed the instructions to a tee. The water was absolute clear with a ring of floc at the bottom.

Here's where I screwed up, I tried to vacuum the floc but the manual hose got detached and I ended up stirring the floc around the whole pool (remember I'm a newbie).

Waited it to settle some more and was ablt to vacuum some of the floc out but there's still floc just sitting in the water that won't settle down to the bottom of the pool.

I turned the filter on to see if that would help and its removing some but I can clearly see particles just floating there.....

Wife said we should floc some more but I'm gun shy.

What should I do?

PoolDoc is offline Administrator Quark Inspector PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars PoolDoc 5 stars

Default Re: Algae - Not sure if I messed up

Don't floc your floc, unless you really want to a big floccing problem!

(Sorry about that!)

But, seriously, most flocs don't floc themselves well and in excess can actually result in suspending stuff so you can't get it out.

Filter and chlorinate, and don't dose with filter aids etc for at least a week or two. If you've got a sand filter, be careful to backwash ONLY when you see a pressure increase. You can add a little DE powder to help get the find stuff out -- but be careful, and make sure your filter will catch the DE instead of blowing it back into the pool. (So add a cup or two, and then watch your returns -- if the DE comes back into the pool, STOP. Otherwise, add a quart or two.

PoolDoc