+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How long does an inground vinyl liner last?

Default How long does an inground vinyl liner last?

Hello

I have an inground vinyl liner that was installed in 1998, so it is 12 years old. I am noticing that the water level is dropping faster than it does due to evaporation. I don't see any leaks around the pump and filter so I think (I am no expert) that I either have a leak in the lining or somewhere in the plumbing that is under ground.

I don't see any obvious leaks anywhere.

I am going to call a pool guy that I trust to see what he says, but just wondering if anyone has any pointers or advice as how to proceed.

My pool is 16 by 32, with steps in the shallow end. Also has slanted walls in the deep end. Started using a kreepy krauly this summer (which generally works well) and wondering whether this has worn down the liner in places.

Any ideas of cost for a new vinyl liner installed?

aylad is offline SuperMod Emeritus Burfle Ringer aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars aylad 4 stars

Default Re: How long does an inground vinyl liner last?

Don't know where in the country you're located, but I had my 8 year old liner replaced this past spring, paid $2500 (give or take $100, can't quite remember right now). That included draining the pool, removal/disposal of old liner, patch job to smooth out the sand/concrete mixture bottom, installation of new liner, new eyeball covers, cleaning and replacing of the steps. 10 year warranty on the liner, lifetime warranty on the workmanship. Took about 3 days to get it completed, then another couple of days to get it refilled.