+ Reply to Thread

Thread: CYA Levels Okay at Minimum?

Default CYA Levels Okay at Minimum?

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie and have been reading (and rereading) posts here for a while. This is our first "real" pool, and I have been thrust into keeping it up (as in, my landlord got it started up and then bailed, lol) so I hit the internet and found this site! The pool is a 23,000 vinyl inground. I do not have the full test kit (but it is on my wish list), just the strips (not very accurate, I know) and a chlorine and ph drops test kit. I have been concerned that my stablilizer was too low or nonexistant, so I took a sample to the pool store today. After the salesgirl became miffed because I wasn't going purchased the recommended products, she finally gave me the printout.

My readings are:

TDS: 400
    CYA: 35
    TC: 0
    FC: 0
    pH: 7.8
    Alk: 80
    Adj. Total Alk: 69 (explain please)
    Hardness: 95
    Optimizer +: 1 (explain please)
    Quat: 0

I went to the store and purchased 25 1lb. boxes of Great Value baking soda and 4 of the 1.42 gallon jugs of bleach. All of that has been added at this point. My concern is: is the CYA level being on the low end of acceptable (35) going to allow the chlorine to dissipate more rapidly than it would if I raise the CYA with some stabilizer?

Thanks!

waterbear is offline Lifetime Member Sniggle Mechanic waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars waterbear 4 stars

Default Re: CYA Levels Okay at Minimum?

Quote Originally Posted by MomX5 View Post

My readings are:

TDS: 400
    CYA: 35
    This is a good starting place. If you find that your chlorine burns off too fast in the sun then bump it up a bit.

TC: 0
    FC: 0
    pH: 7.8
    Alk: 80
    Adj. Total Alk: 69 (explain please)