PDA

View Full Version : Balance-TC Problem, Tried everyting...HELP!

scubaduba
06-18-2010, 09:20 AM
Hi, Thanks everyone on this forum for your great advice. I am a 4 yr pool vet and learned a great amount from you all. Never a big problem until now. I am goiing nuts for 3 weeks and would appreciate some advice. I can not keep any chlorine in the pool. Algae party every day. I kill, clean/brush/vacuum, clean filter, and run filter pump for hours. When I run the pump for 48 hrs straight, SWG on super chlorinate I can get a TC reading of 1 ppm. I have been adding 1/2 gal of bleach every 10 and running the SWG to maintain 3 ppm I have had pool store test and they have close to same results as K2006.

IF I check the water pimping right off the SWG cell it is producing lots of chlorine. I know something is preventing it from sutaining or eating it up but I think my levels are OK? Pool store says Need to raise CYA but from what I have learned I am probably already a little high.

2 Weeks ago: Replaced the Hayward Electrolytic thinking it was shot, probably was not ($430 mistake). Did not check my balance because "I know my pool water" (or so I thought). PH was way off at 6. After realizing this I added 6 box of 20 Mule team Borax raising it to the right level which it is maintaining. I also had 0 CYA and added 20lb.

32K gunite pool, SWG
Here are my current measurements with K2006:
TC 0-.3
FC 0
PH 7.6
TA 210
CH 100
CYA 70

Watermom
06-18-2010, 09:44 AM