PDA

View Full Version : Help with getting levels right please!

one4irish
06-17-2010, 03:50 PM
I have been struggling with getting all these levels where they need to be. This is my recent readings:
Ph 7.8
Cl/Br .5/1
TA 190
CYA 0
TH 320

I added 16oz of stablizer on Sunday evening, should I add more or wait. I know I need to get my chlorine up, which I have to do everyday/night, is this something that is on going? I also shocked the pool last Thursday (6/10) and yesterday (6/16) due to the water getting cloudy. After the first shock the water cleared, the it is still alittle cloudy. I have been using gran chlorine and the tablets both.

Our pool is just an Intex 15X42 metal pole pool (about 4000 gal).

We have changed our filter twice already (just opened the pool on 6/6). Is that normal? As you can tell I am a pool newbie!

One last thing, we will be leaving tomorrow for Father's day weekend and returning on Monday, what is the best thing to do for my pool? Cover it? Up the chlorine? Don't really have anyone to come take care of it. No timer on pump either. Plus Intex says not to run the pump with the cover on.

Any help would be great!!

Thanks

CarlD
06-17-2010, 05:20 PM
You'll need to start reading. In most of the forums there are stickied threads--you'll want to read them.

Your TA is very high, but you don't need to worry about it, so don't.
Your CH is OK, but don't add more.

Your concern is, of course, your pH, TC and CYA.

CYA takes a while to show up so don't add more. You CAN use Trichlor tabs or dichlor power since you pH is high and your CYA is low.

But you can stick with bleach. You currently want your chlorine (actually Free Chorine) to be at least at 10ppm to kill the algae. It will take a couple of days.

Watermom
06-17-2010, 05:21 PM
Lots of questions! We'll try and give you a hand.