PDA

View Full Version : Help Deciphering My Taylor Test Results

labdi01
06-10-2010, 04:39 PM
I just moved to a house that has a pool. I'd never had a pool before - so I'm new to pools and the forum.

We opened the pool 3 weeks ago and had been battling iron. We seem to have won that battle.

Based on the advise of the experts here, I purchased a Taylor 2006 test kit. I had been depending on the pool store for my water results and acted based on their numbers (and the advice of the forum). I went to the store this morning and have those results. I also received my Taylor kit this afternoon, and just performed all the testing. They don't come close to the pool store - but I trust my Taylor more.

Here are the comparisons:

Taylor Pool Store
FC - 15 CL - 3
CC - 4.5 TC - 3
pH - 7.2 pH - 7.2
TA - 60 TA - 130
CA - 50 CA - 50
CYA - 50 CYA - 100

I'm fairly confident I used the Taylor test correctly. Sometimes their descriptions of color isn't exactly what I got. In those cases, adding more of the reagent that was to change the color didn't make a difference. (The chlorine diff makes sense to me because I shocked w/ 2# cal hypo after I got their numbers - the rest doesn't make sense)

Anyway - based on these numbers, it looks like I have a FC/CC issue?

Based on other posts I'd read, I'm guessing I have to keep adding bleach until the level holds (with a 1-2 ppm buffer) overnight and CC goes down to 0.5?

I'm just not sure how to approach this. Do I try to keep it at it's current level of 15? How often throughout the day should I test the level? How much bleach vs. ppms lost should I add? Will my other numbers fluctuate because of this process?

Any help for this ignoramous would be greatly appreciated!

Poconos
06-10-2010, 05:54 PM