PDA

View Full Version : Algae ?

mrdwkds
05-25-2010, 09:05 PM
Hi fellow Poolers, newbie here.
New to the site and unfamiliar where to post this question but here goes.
Just opened the pool today and to my surprize I have a brown hard film caked on the side of my vinly liner above the water line.
Closed the pool last season clean, and full of cholrine as usual.
Question: will a side wall cleaner and some scubbing remove this?? My daugther WILL not go in with that. SO Gross. She's 16, and it is gross.

Here's the other other problem I have.
After opening and getting the filter running my pool guy suggests to pour 4-5 gallons of cholrine in and run the filter for 24 hrs before a sample is tested. (I have a 11,000 gal above ground pool with a sand filter).
After this was running for about 2 hrs I noticed on the bottom of pool below the discharge nozzle, brown multi-colored sand? or algae enough to cover the palm of your hand. As the filter ran for a couple of more hours more of this stuff was settling all around thru out the pool.
Okay, thought it was sand from the filter but my sand is white.So anyone ,is this algae that grows within 2 hours? and what do I do. I've had the pool for 3-4 years and changed the sand 2 times. So any help??
Thanks Mrdwkds.
ps sorry if I went long

Watermom
05-25-2010, 09:18 PM
Can you give us a current set of water testing results taken with a drops-based kit (not teststrips).

Do NOT pour that much chlorine in the pool at once. (What kind of chlorine are you using? Bleach? Liquid chlorine?) That would take your chlorine up to between 22-27ppm which is WAY too high.

Repost with numbers and someone here can take a look and try and help. Also, what is the pressure on your filter and have you backwashed any?

Welcome to the forum!

mrdwkds
05-26-2010, 07:00 AM
Thanks for the response Water Mom.Don't have any numbers as of yet but will do in the next day or so.