PDA

View Full Version : Day 1, where to start?

sturev
05-25-2010, 07:50 PM
Hi Everyone,

Let me start by saying I'm a total newbie when it comes to pools, so bare with me while I get up to speed...

I've got a brand new above ground pool. It's actually a Fastlane Pool (by Endless Pools) that I've fully enclosed/insulated and has custom spa cover. It's heated and in addition to the small water pump they sent with it (~30 gpm), I put in a Hayward 1.5 HP pump so I could run a pool sweep on occasion. I keep it at 89 degrees and the water is crystal clear right now.
I live in the Mountains in Central California and we get very hot summers (110+) and some snow in the winter, so I'm hoping the cover/insulation will help me keep things (water balance) under control throughout the seasons.

I’ll tell you that I’ve spent the last 3 months trying to read/listen/ask/figure out what to do/not do and then yesterday I happened upon poolsolutions.com and something struck a chord… I’ve sorta got up to speed and even read the latest posts from Ben (I totally love your honesty and I hope you have great success in the near future! Where’s the donation button!!!!?).

My first question is really related to getting started with BBB. Our water comes from a private well and I’ve got several water systems/filters in place, so it’s not too bad, but high alkalinity seems to be an issue right out of the gate… (it’s off the chart right now, but I can add dry Acid and bring it down, but when I do that my PH goes way down also…? Is that normal? I’m thinking I have to go get some Borax and get this new system going???). I was told not to use Muriatic Acid as it will damage the vinyl? I’ve got a basement full of chemicals and I’ll figure out how to dispose of them later… :)