PDA

View Full Version : Why does pH drop only in the winter

jereece
03-07-2010, 03:37 PM
I have a 27' AG pool. I have been using bleach for about 5 years. Each year I normally have to adjust the pH up a little using borax. However last year and again this year, the pH has dropped out the bottom of my test kit over the winter. I live in NC.

At startup last year it took 2-3 boxes of borax to get the pH back up but then it ran perfect all year with no further adjustments. As normal, I check the chlorine concentration (under the cover) about every 2 months and adding a gallon of bleach if necessary. Once again however the pH has fallen at or below 6.4, the lowest reading on my test kit. I mixed up a box of borax in some water and pumped it in and am using a submersible pump for mixing.

Why all of a sudden does the pH drop over the winter. I don't recall my pH dropping so much until last year.

As always, thanks for the help.

Jim

chem geek
03-07-2010, 06:23 PM
'Tis a mystery to me. Is there anything that is getting into the pool over the winter such as leaves (tannic acid)? Something acidic is getting into the pool. Is your rain particularly acidic?

CarlD
03-07-2010, 11:24 PM
I believe you've had far more precipitation in NC this winter. I ALWAYS see my pH drop over the winter, which I attribute to acid rain.

aylad
03-09-2010, 05:56 PM
My pH tends to drop over wintertime, too--I think it's because I'm not so attentive to the leaves that blow in from my neighbor's yard, in addition to the added rain, as Carl suggested.

Janet

jereece
03-26-2010, 01:11 PM