PDA

View Full Version : Can't seem to lower CYA

jenmenke
04-28-2006, 01:37 PM
Hi. I've been using this forum for a few years and it has been great. Back when I started (I had been using Tri-Chlor pucks exclussively) my CYA was something like 150 or something absurd. Over the last thre seasons I have been able to get it down to 60 or so (I have a very difficult time reading that particular test. But I'd guess it is between 60 and 70). The curious thing is that it has been at that level for 3 seasons now. After switching to bleach only, and lower the water at the end of the year and adding fresh water my CYA came down to 80 over the course of the season. The next it came down to 60-70. But it doesn't seem to budge from there. Last fall I took a LOT of water out. I am adding new, fresh unstablilized water. Shouldn't it come down? It is so frustrating! I never use the pucks except for 1 week when we are out of town in the summer.

Any insights?
Jennie Menke

duraleigh
04-28-2006, 02:08 PM
Hi, Jennie,

The CYA can only be in there from the pucks or adding plain CYA.....there is no other vehicle. If your CYA was 100 and you drained 30% of your water, your CYA will be 70.

I'm not sure if that's insight or not. Drain the water and/or stop using the pucks.

Almost everyone agrees the test is pretty subjective...you just get better with time. :)

CarlD
04-28-2006, 02:09 PM
We once went away for two weeks and I left floaters full of pucks. I came back to perfectly clear water, but my CYA had jumped from 30 to 60, and my pH had fallen from 7.6 to 6.8 or less!

CYA can be added QUITE quickly by pucks.

jenmenke
04-28-2006, 02:35 PM
Thanks guys. That is just so bizarre -- that 4 "innocent" pucks can eliminate a years worth of hard work to get CYA down. that must be the deal.

there really isn't any other option than the pucks for going out of town, is there?

prh129
04-28-2006, 03:10 PM