PDA

View Full Version : Three months in the program

Water_man
08-25-2008, 01:14 PM
Hi,
This is my third pool season and the first season that I follow the BBB program.
I’ve been using bleach for almost three months now and I’m almost "shocked" that I never had to shock my pool!
Let’s face it: the chemistry suggested here by Ben and Pool Geek and others makes sense, but almost all pool owners have been brained-washed that one needs to shock.
I met quite a few pool owners who sanitize their pool by the traditional way of trichlor pucks and weekly shocking and they haven’t had any major problem.
Nevertheless, I was hit by "pink algae" last year and I have my fair share of leaves and other flora, so I decided to switch.

When I started using bleach I was amazed by the amount of bleach consumed daily (about a gallon of 6% bleach) but then I was reassured it was normal. After less than a week I decided to automate my FC feed and I installed the Liquidator.

I am convinced that the BBB method and the Liquidator are a "match made in Heaven."
The Liquidator doesn’t have the ultimate hardware components and it may need some tweaking, adjustments, and reasonable DIY skills, but all things considered, it’s a great, inexpensive tool that works perfectly with the program. My FC level has been running on 4.5-7 consistently for almost three months now (CYA = 60) and the Liquidator hasn’t stopped working. My CC has always been less than 0.5! "Shocking?" – I forgot what it means!

Those who are interested to learn more about it and how to deal with common issues should look at the TFP forum. It has the largest Liquidator user group on the planet.

All in all, my pool’s water quality is outstanding. I’ve been to a couple of hotels recently and for the life of me I wouldn’t go into their pool. When one is accustomed to clean, odorless, tasteless and clear water with a clean bottom, how can one settle for less?