PDA

View Full Version : Is it really a problem if CYA is too high

slowtan
04-28-2006, 12:42 AM
I drained (50-60%) and re-filled my pool twice and my CYA level is a little above 100.

Alk 150
PH 7.4
chlorine 4.0 perfect .. all #'s are great. I even took my water to my pool store and they said not to worry about the CYA since everything else is great. I manually tested my water and everything always comes out great. I was high on PH and low on chlorine but both of those are fixed. I am keeping it aroudn 4ppm despite's ben's chart but I have 0 algae and my water is crystal clear. I just want to know if my CYA is going to hurt me in the long run. This is my first year converting to the three B's .

Stephen

MaryLee
04-28-2006, 07:08 AM
Maybe your CYA is actually lower than you think?

I find that it's hard to get a 100% accurate CYA level when I test....sometimes I feel like I can see the dot all the way from the top of the tube, other times it disappears quicker (probably my eyes)....so I go by the assumption that my CYA is in a range of between 30 and 40 and that seems to work for me.

Even so, your chlorine seems a little low...what would be the harm of bumping it up a bit, just in case. Your water will still be crystal clear and you won't be worried about an algae bloom :)

CarlD
04-28-2006, 07:23 AM
I drained (50-60%) and re-filled my pool twice and my CYA level is a little above 100.

Alk 150
PH 7.4
chlorine 4.0 perfect .. all #'s are great. I even took my water to my pool store and they said not to worry about the CYA since everything else is great. I manually tested my water and everything always comes out great. I was high on PH and low on chlorine but both of those are fixed. I am keeping it aroudn 4ppm despite's ben's chart but I have 0 algae and my water is crystal clear. I just want to know if my CYA is going to hurt me in the long run. This is my first year converting to the three B's .

Stephen