PDA

View Full Version : Pump questions...and filter sand.

veedubtek
06-30-2008, 08:13 PM
Anyone good with these things? I've got 3 Hayward 3/4hp super pumps sitting here, all junk. 1 supposedly has a bad starter...the one I've been using for the last 6 years now crapped out on me yesterday (just gets real hot, won't actually do anything), and the 3rd (which I thought was my good spare), starts and runs for about 5 seconds or so and kicks back off, usually tripping the circuit.

I'm fairly handy with things, so I'd certainly like to try and rob peter to pay paul, but I'm somewhat clueless where to start here without a good repair manual. Any ideas, or links to a website where I might find some decent information? Gotta get something going soon before my 16x32 IG turns into a swamp.

If not, can I replace just the motor? I tried this on my spa last year, with very bad results...the impeller just shattered trying to remove it. I kinda expect the same results here, but figured I'd ask.

And finally, best source if I have to replace the whole pump? I'm finding SP2605X7's on ebay for $235, which seems like a pretty good deal, but once again, figured I'd ask to be sure.

P.S.- Assuming one has no good local pool stores, where is a good place to buy good filter sand? I used play sand ~2 years ago, and I think my Dolphin is tired of cleaning it up off the bottom of the pool all the time...Can you get it at wal-mart by chance?

Thanks in advance!

greenacres
06-30-2008, 11:26 PM
I got my filter sand at wal mart it was outside with the mulch and landscape blocks. Sorry no help with the pump.

Poconos
07-04-2008, 12:38 AM