PDA

View Full Version : Ascorbic treatment

essikr
06-13-2008, 12:48 PM
I tried the ascorbic treatment and everything looked great . I brought the alkalinity up with soda and the PH up with borax. Looked good for a week and now the stain is back almost as bad as when I started. The water read is
PH 6,9 ,Alk 110,Cal hd 200,copper 5, CYA 120, chl .5. There can't be much of my heat exchanger left ! It looks like the sequa-sol either wasn't enough or didn't work well.Is there a better sequestor to use??With that much copper in the water is there any way to get it out? Will adding sequestor be a rountine ?

Thanks Marie for your help the pool looked really great after the initial treatment. Sure would like to get it like that again and keep it that way.

szampino
06-13-2008, 05:05 PM
Regarding your Numbers: PH 6,9 ,Alk 110,Cal hd 200,copper 5, CYA 120, chl .5

I'm not a forum expert but:

Your PH is too low and may be harmful to your pool. Raise it to at least 7.0 to be on the safer' side. 7.0 is also a good number to target for shocking with metals. After you get your metals under control you could maintain it at the 7.2 range.

Your CYA is going to require you to 'Shock' at about FC 25ppm. (this may be a problem with metals and Sequestering, I'm not sure at what point the Sequestering Agents breakdown)

Stabilizer . . . . . . Min. FC . . . . Max FC . . . 'Shock' FC
=> 0 ppm . . . . . . . 1 ppm . . . . . 3 ppm . . . . 10 ppm
=> 10 - 20 ppm . . . . 2 ppm . . . . . 5 ppm . . . . 12 ppm
=> 30 - 50 ppm . . . . 3 ppm . . . . . 6 ppm . . . . 15 ppm
=> 60 - 90 ppm . . . . 5 ppm . . . . . 10 ppm . . .. 20 ppm
=> 100 - 200 ppm . . . 8 ppm . . . . . 15 ppm . . .. 25 ppm

Your cl number doesn't give me enough information. This forum looks at chlorine as FC + CC = TC. FC='Good Chlorine' and CC='Bad Chlorine', TC is just how much Chlorine is at the party.