PDA

View Full Version : Safety Rope

crosso
04-26-2006, 10:02 AM
I just had a 18 x 36 inground vinyl liner pool installed. My pool builder forgot to install the safety rope holders. When I asked about it. He said that the holders are installed in the concrete decking, not in the pool walls and that it is usally a tripping hazard, so most people don't install them. My question is are they really supposed to be installed in the decking or on the pool walls?

JohnT
04-26-2006, 10:40 AM
They usually go through the coping. Your pool builder would be strung up and quartered in court if he was ever sued. The guys that put mine in were very firm that the safety rope and diving signs be in place when they left.

rferrel1
04-26-2006, 10:53 AM
I am a newbie lurker here but - last week I had the opportunity to attend a video conference on recreational water safety. Although the seminar was targeted at public water safety issues, the vast majority of drownings nationwide occur in private pools/water and one of the big things they mentioned was not having the safety rope up so that people knew where a drop off was - even experienced swimmers can become disoriented when they are caught off guard by a sudden change in depth.

crosso
04-26-2006, 11:38 AM
The pool is finished. He has to come back to install my safety net. If I have him install the pool rope correctly, will I be at a greater risk for a leak since he would be installing it after the fact?

MarkC
04-26-2006, 11:52 AM
My safety rope anchors are in the wall of the pool slightly below the tile.

MarkC
04-26-2006, 11:53 AM
I forgot to mention my pool is concrete. If I had vinyl I would not want them below the water line, just one more place for a leak.

JohnT
04-26-2006, 01:31 PM
The pool is finished. He has to come back to install my safety net. If I have him install the pool rope correctly, will I be at a greater risk for a leak since he would be installing it after the fact?