PDA

View Full Version : Installing a Sand Filter

NullQwerty
07-17-2007, 12:24 PM
Hey folks,

I'm about to help a friend install a Hayward Pro Series sand filter in his above ground pool. I have never done this before or even worked with a sand filter before, however I've installed my DE Filter many times for my in-ground pool many times.

What are some of the differences I should be aware of (other than don't put in DE of course)? Like, obviously I make the connection to the pump and the return to the pool. After that, I imagine I should add sand. Anything I should be aware of in this part? Like, add slowly, or mix with water, or monitor pressure...?

Is there anything else that needs to be done or any other differences? Does a backwash need to be performed at some point?

Thanks for the help!

JohnT
07-17-2007, 12:57 PM
The big things:

Protect the laterals from the sand as you fill the filter. There will probably be a collar type contraption that diverts the sand, and the instructions may have you add water before starting.

Use the right sand.

Backwash thoroughy, then rinse thoroughly before starting to filter.

waste
07-17-2007, 06:26 PM
Null, Hi - how's it going?
John is very correct in saying to protect the laterals and do the complete backwash!

Hayward and I disagree on quite a few things in operating or maintaining one of their products - what to fill a sand filter with is just one of them. I say to add pea gravel first (replace ~ 1/4 of the sand lbs with the gravel) [see this for more info]