PDA

View Full Version : Please help!! First time with new test kit.

AE340B
05-27-2007, 12:28 PM
I just received my first full featured test kit. It's a Taylor K-2006. Prior to this I was just using the small kits that measured free chlorine, Ph and alkalinity. This is my first time with a broader spectrum of numbers. Here they are, what do I do with this water, in what quantities and order, and in what amounts? It's a 44,000 gallon vinyl liner in ground pool on Long Island, NY. It's heated with a heat pump and water temp at this testing was 79 Degrees F. Thanks!
Ph - 7.0
6 drops of R-006 raised it to 7.5 - 7.6
Total Alkalinity - 50 PPM
Free Chlorine - 2.4 PPM

Combined Chlorine - amount didn't register, sample never turned pink ( I used the same sample as the free chlorine - was that correct, or do I refill the tube again with fresh pool water to retest for combined chlorine?)

CYA - 7.0
Calcium Hardness - 110 PPM
Ph Saturation - 8.15
Ph Saturation Index - -1.35
Anyone have any ideas on what to do here? Is any of this really bad? Why don't I have a Combined Chlorine reading? Lots of info here, but I don't know what to do with it. Thanks. :)
Doug

traceyb
05-27-2007, 03:02 PM
the alkalinity is raised w/ baking soda, this will also raise your ph and help w/ your chlorine. By the upper level of results, you would add 2-4 pounds of baking soda till your ph is ideal. then add your chlorine.

Hope this helps

AE340B
05-27-2007, 05:57 PM
So if I understand you correctly, I throw in 4 pounds of Arm and Hammer, and that will raise my alkalinity in my 44,000 gallon pool to where it needs to be. As a result of this, my Ph should rise along with it. Is this correct?

Also, any ideas why I showed no combined chlorine? Is this the way it's supposed to be, or do I have a problem? Did I conduct the teat properly? Lastly, this is the first time I tested for CYA. Are the numbers for that good, or do I have a problem? Thanks !
Doug

chem geek
05-27-2007, 06:12 PM