PDA

View Full Version : How much of a PSI increase with solar panel?

jmjbj_h
05-21-2007, 04:38 PM
I just installed 4 2x20 panels yesturday and the wife happily reported that as of today we already have a 5 degree increase. I am concerned with how much of a PSI jump is acceptable. Mine went from 26psi to 32psi with the ball valve fully open. Is this OK?

ChadH
05-22-2007, 12:07 AM
I am no expert but thought that I would respond. When I contacted the manufacturer of my panels they told me that an 8 psi delta is acceptable. It appeared to me that they don't really like talking about pressure. Their thought is that it is all about 'flow', if you only send enough flow through the panels that they can handle then pressure is not an issue. My issue was that it seems that my backflow preventer valve just before the solar water returns to the main return pipe seemed to be pushed closed by the pressure in the main return line. I can only open the backflow trap door by sending more pressure to the panels than was in the mainline return. Anyway for Sungrabber/Fafco they told me 8 psi delta was within spec.
Good Luck

cleancloths
05-22-2007, 09:46 AM
I don't understand why everyone seems to be hooking these things up to make pressure drop an issue. I run the panel of a side stream and only run a portion of the water through them, thus pressure does not come into play.

tphaggerty
05-22-2007, 10:47 AM
Panels are rated to withstand much higher pressures than that. The increase you see at the filter is going to be higher (don't know by how much) than the pressure in the panels due to the backflow pressure of all of the extra piping & fittings as well. At a minimum, you are forcing the water to go through 4 90 degree fittings, most likely much more.