PDA

View Full Version : Why won't my pool get clean?

rilesworld
05-09-2007, 12:24 PM
I recently bought a house with an IG vinyl lined pool. This is my first year maintaining the pool. This may be a silly question, but I am having trouble getting my pool clean (it's clean, maybe I should say sparkling). We have had quite a bit of silt, pollen, leaves, etc. in the pool this spring, and we vacuum about once a week. However, everytime I get done vacuuming some of the silt seems to return the very next day. Is this silt that just gets suspended during the vacuuming process (stirred up) and then settles back down the following day? Is that typical? I try to be careful and go slow, but sometimes I have to scrub to get the silt up.

My other thought was that I am actually vacuuming up the silt, but it is just not getting filtered out and then ends up back in my pool.

Riles

matt4x4
05-09-2007, 03:11 PM
if you have to scrub a bit to remove teh "silt" then I highly doubt it's settled silt - please read:
http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=6954
it should explain what you should do.

rilesworld
05-09-2007, 05:06 PM
I have read that post before, and was curious about that type of algae. Is there anyway to determine whether it is silt or algae (without a microscope). I would hate go through the extreme shock process if it wasn't necessary.

BTW I have a couple of other points. The bottom of the pool does feel a bit slimy (bad news), but this hasn't seemed to get any worse over the past month with me maintaining 3-6ppm Cl. It just won't go away. In other words, I don't get the impression that anything is multipling. Not sure if that information is useful, but it might help.

Riles

mohawk
05-10-2007, 10:24 AM