PDA

View Full Version : Help: any opinions on best SWCG: Poolpilot, PentairWatermaid, Aquarite?

bbroglio
05-01-2007, 11:38 AM
We're converting to a SWCG and looking for any experience with one manuafacturer over the other? Appreciate any success or sob stories on make & models for a 20x40 in-ground vinyl liner. Thanks in advance

tphaggerty
05-01-2007, 01:34 PM
I have an Aquarite and like it. But I have no experience with the others. I too have a 20x40 vinyl inground and my Aquarite does a fine job of keeping the CL up. I do keep my CYA up in the 60 to 80 range as recommended, keep my FC between 3 to 5. Depending on how cold/warm the water is, it runs at 25% to about 50% setting.

I do add bleach on occasion, primarily after a big rain or large group swim. Even when I turn the SWG up full blast, it seems that it can, on these rare occasions, get behind the curve and have trouble keeping enough active CL in the water to handle the large loads. It only happened 2 or 3 times last year (heavy load/rain, next day pool is cloudy, FC is low) and I use 2 or 3 gallons of bleach to clear it up.

Overall, I'm really happy with it. The one occasion we had to call the support line, they were fabulous and talked my wife through resetting the system and getting it working again.

nater
05-01-2007, 04:01 PM
Lots of info to your questions through this link:

http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=6484

I'm partial to my Autopilot, especially from the aspect of having their resident expert as a member of this forum (Poolsean). You should be happy with your purchase as long as you stick to one of the major players (Autopilot, Aquarite, Goldline, etc) and you FULLY understand ALL the pros/cons of SWC systems. Spend a lot of time reading all the posts in the SWC forum.

A SWC will not elimnate the need for pool care, but it sure comes close. (as long as you follow CarlD's advice and stay ahead of your water) ;)

tphaggerty
05-01-2007, 08:29 PM