PDA

View Full Version : Timer on pump/filter

VOLDADDY
03-31-2007, 10:29 AM
Greetings all. I'm looking at adding a timer on my pump/filter this year in order to try and save some money on my light bill. I have an 18x36 IG pool. My questio is this, is there any certain brand or features you guys that have them would reccomend, and how long should I let my pump run to make sure it is filtering the water? My pool is scheduled to be opened Friday the 13th! My light bill is usually about 1/2 in the winter when my pool is closed, and it is supposed to be more then. I have been running mine 24/7 for the last 3 years. TIA.

dawndenise
03-31-2007, 11:29 AM
My PB installed an Intermatic timer with Freeze Protection. It's a fairly basic model but does the job. I can't imagine what it would be like to not have a timer. While I can't tell you how long you'll need to run your pool equipment to ensure a turnover or two, I CAN tell you it won't be 24/7! So, your electric bills should be appreciably less than last summer. :)

My pool's currently on 7 hours and that may be a bit much, considering it's only mid-70's to 80 degrees with 68 degree water. I know I'm turning over the pool at least once, but there's so darn much pollen, spend flower buds, dirt, etc. in the air (and, therefore, in my pool) that I need to keep the water circulated.

One thing I'd do differently is to put the Polaris cleaner on its own timer, slave to the main timer. There may actually be a different Intermatic model that can do this. If you have an automatic cleaner with a booster pump, you might want to consider that.

brittmer
04-01-2007, 12:59 AM