PDA

View Full Version : "Green, Cloudy, Disgusting Pool?" Why yes, thanks for asking....

CelticDaddio
03-22-2007, 06:23 PM
20 x 40 Vinyl IG
Chlorinator (One of those big inline tubes that you put the pucks in)
I am trying to Chlorinate using Bleach.

Here are my first set of numbers for the season.... I hope they are right... This is my first attempt with my test kit... I bought the AquaTrend Service DPD Pool and Spa Test Kit.... I bought it at the end of last season.... Can I still use it?

Anyway here are the numbers:

FC > 5
TC > 5
PH < 7
TA 175
TH 250-275
CYA: 1-1.5

The FC, TC and PH are either < or > some value because the reading went off the scale... That is, for example on PH, it was a lighter color than the minimum on the PH scale....

As a comparison, I just bought some AquaChek 5 Test Strips.... These are the numbers I got with one of those strips....

TC: > 10
FC: > 10
TA: ~ 40
PH: ~6.2
TH: > 500

Some variation there, huh.

One note... I have been putting about 5-6 gallons of Clorox Bleach in the pool every 3 - 4 days in an attempt to clear it up. I guess that would have been more effective had I balanced the water first.

So I guess my question is.... what do I need to add to balance the pool?

If I understand things correctly... (Going by the first set of #s)

I have > 5 ppm Total Chlorine and > 5 ppm Free Chlorine. Since these seem to be close in level, does that mean I have minimal CC, and therefore my chlorine is not doing it's job?

My PH is too low, so I need to add Borax to bump it to somewhere in the 7.4 - 7.8 range?

TA is 175, so that is too high right.... Can I leave it, or do I really need to lower it.... How do I lower it... lower level of water, add water, etc?

TH is 250-275 ... no clue....

Thanks,
Ed

Watermom
03-22-2007, 06:55 PM