PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I'm a newbie !

crazimom
04-20-2006, 01:32 PM
Hello everyone, I have already learned so much from this website ! Our Pool was built late last fall, and I just opened it for the season. it's already crystal clear after three days. I vacuumed, shocked and started up the chlorine feeder. I also have a polaris 280, that is working about 3 hours a day. I'm turning the pump off a night. Is this too good to be true??? I feel like I'm waiting for something bad to happen..lol. My first question of many...is it better to leave the solar blanket on during the day or off? My water temp. is 64 but it holds steady as long as I leave the cover on at night.

chemicalbalance
04-21-2006, 08:23 PM
64 degrees is freezing. Your solar cover heats the pool from the suns rays during the day. If you keep your solar cover on during the day your temperature will rise. Using the cover at night acts like an insulating blanket to keep all the built up heat trapped. I leave the solar cover on everyday that we are not using the pool and I always put it on at night when we are finished swimming for the evening. With a reel it takes about 3 minutes to put in on or take it off.

Your pool will tend to be clear when the water is cold. Nothing grows that well. We keep our pool in the high 80's during the summer. This is a great opportunity for algae if you dont keep up with it. You must pay attention to your chlorine levels and brush the walls once per week.

I am a big believer in changing my DE filter regularly. A whole seasons worth of DE costs $15 at Lowe's so I change my DE the first of every month. I like my pool to sparkle which is a function of chemical balance and good filtration. Plus my vacuum attachment works much better with high suction.