PDA

View Full Version : What's worst case scenario?

subedoo
10-11-2006, 05:47 PM
This is my first year with a pool. I've used only the BBB method. I must admit to neglecting my pool chemicals for the past 3-4 weeks. After removing the solar cover to vacuum and prepare for closing, I noticed green stuff starting to grow on the shady-side pool wall. It wasn't horrible and was easily brushed off. I vacuumed, brushed, and then shocked with chlorine. I tested the water with my cheapo Walmart test kit but really, for me, its a best guess as to what the numbers are. The water turned an orange color. Then I tried to use the shot glass method for testing but am pretty sure I messed that up (used water from my dehumidifier to dilute the pool water).

Anyway . . . . long story long, I can't find Polyquat 60% at our local pool stores (3 of them). One store told me over the phone they had a "three month" algecide which would be 60%. I drove there to buy it and it wasn't what I asked for, it contained copper which I know is a no-no.

So, I am opting to not add the algecide. If my pool is clean, and I believe it is, things should be fine come spring.

However, what if my pool is not as clean as I think it is. What is the worst case scenario?

Central Illinois
Air Temp last weekend 85 degrees
Air Temp today 41 and dropping!!
Water Temp last weekend 70 degrees
Used Doughboy
28' round
new sand filter and pump (don't know what kind)

aylad
10-11-2006, 06:01 PM
Worst case scenario is that you'll have green water on opening and no CYA, both of which can be fairly easily taken care of. Keep your chemistry up until the water temp is 60 ish or below, then shock it one more time and close. Don't worry about it, it'll be farly easy to clean up.

waste
10-11-2006, 06:09 PM