PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...need help with startup

Ready2swim
09-15-2006, 09:11 AM
We just filled our pool a couple of days ago and so far I havent seen anyone from the PB to come out and start things up. Last night I decided to at least start the waterfall pump to have some circulation but that doesnt run through the filter. I guess I have a few questions but the main question is in regards to checmicals so that is why I posted it here. Let me give you some background info...

Free form inground gunite pool 17,000 gallons 34'X18' with 3 1/2' depth in the shallow end and 6' depth in the deep end. Attached to the pool is an 8' diameter spa and 2.5 ton moss rock waterfall.

My equipment consists of the following:

1) 1 hp Pentair Whisper Flow waterfall pump

2) 2 hp Pentair Whisper Flow Pool Pump

3) Easy Touch 8 Controll system with Intellichlor IC40 SWG

4) Pentair MiniMax NT 400K BTU Gas Heater

5) Polaris 380 with Booster Pump

6) (2) Skimmers

7) (4) Return Lines

8) All 2" plumbing

I will get some pictures this weekend and attach them...

Now on to my questions...

1) What (If anything) will we need to do differently with regards to chemicals since we have the SWG? I know that we will need to controll the PH with Acid and the CYA...anything else I need to know or do I have it completely wrong?

2) How long should I wait until I go balistic on the PB for not coming out to start up our pool? Will it be OK sitting stagnant for a few days...I can run the waterfall but I am afraid to start everything else up since they may have a plug somewhere I dont know about and I am not exactly sure where all of the valves are going at this point. I think I have it figured out but until I see it for sure I dont want to take the chance by myslef.

3) Will it hurt the SWG if I start up the pool without adding any salt to the system? The reason I ask is I want to be informed if the PB tells me this is OK.