PDA

View Full Version : Fiberglass Pool Waterline Tile - Yes or No?

momof2grlz
08-10-2006, 04:12 PM
Hello, everyone. I'm a newbie to the forum and to pool ownership. I've been reading posts for the past few weeks and have learned alot.

My husband and I are having a 12' x 25' freeform fiberglass pool installed with a cantilever concrete deck. I'm looking for opinions on whether or not to have waterline tile installed. I originally decided not to have tile to save money, but now I'm afraid the pool won't look like a conventional pool without tile.

Does anyone have an opinion or wish they'd installed tile when they didn't; or vice versa, wish they hadn't installed tile. I've been told you can have the tile installed later, but I'm wondering how that would work since the pool already has water in it. I would think it would be tough to keep the surface dry while the tile and grout are being installed.

Thanks for any help!

Chris

mbar
08-10-2006, 08:46 PM
I have a fiberglass pool, and wish it had waterline tile. It is not that the pool doesn't look good, but it is a pain to keep the waterline clean, because the pool is white, and you see everything. You could wax the waterline, but I have not ever done it, because by the time I open in the spring, I don't want to take the time to clean and wax it! Tile would be much easier to clean in my opinion, and it wouldn't show every spec! I would love to hear from others too.

keithw
08-11-2006, 08:40 AM
I also have white fiberglass pool without tile. I am planning on a DIY tile job this fall. From what I've seen & heard it doesn't sound overly difficult.

A. You have to drain the pool below where you want to install the tile.

B. You use silicone to attach and grout the pool. Some people use regular silicone but I am considering using Marine silicone. http://www.hometownstores.com/detail.aspx?ID=84082

Here are a few DIY fiberglass install sites.

http://www.fiberglassswimmingpooltiling.com/
http://www.flextile.com/index.htm