PDA

View Full Version : Cloudy water

dustybecca
04-15-2006, 05:46 PM
This is my first year to maintain the pool all by myself! My hubby left for Iraq this month and Im already having problems. Just tested and here are my #s.
Hardness= 1000
TChlorine= 3.5
Free Chlorine= 0 to 2
PH= 7.8 to 8.4
Total Alkalinity= 120 to 180
Stabilizer= 100 to 150

The pool raised in temp 10 degrees in one day this week (its currantlly 80) and now I've got a cloudy mess. Any advice?

duraleigh
04-15-2006, 06:20 PM
Hi, Becca,

Your test results are really in a wide range....too wide, in fact. Are you testing with paper strips? If so, I'm afraid you'll need to get rid of those and get you a good drops-based kit and you'll be in good shape.

I'm gonna guess a little as to how to help, but until you get that test kit, all of what we tell you will be pretty much of a guess.

1. I believe your pH is too high...that's probably why your water is cloudy. download mwsmiths calculator from one of his posts and lower your pH to 7.2-7.6

2. If your using pucks (3" discs) for Cl, you'll need to stop. That's making your CYA too high and your Cl ineffective. You need to switch to Clorox for your Cl source 'til you can get your CYA down.

Becca, that's just a start and ,remember, just a guess. If you'll get that drops based kit, yopu'll be able to post better numbers and everyone here will help you get your water clean.

In the meantime, if you'll tell us how many gallons is in your pool, someone will tell you how much muriatic to add to get your pH down. I think that's your most urgent issue.:)

Dave S.

aylad
04-18-2006, 08:24 AM
Along with duraleigh's advice, I'll add that if you have a TC of 3.5 and a FC of only 1-2, then you have a good amound of CC, which means you probably already have an algae outbreak starting in your water, which can also cause it to be cloudy. You need to shock your pool by raising your chlorine to 20 or so (I'd use bleach).

Janet

dustybecca
04-18-2006, 10:55 AM