PDA

View Full Version : 50,000 Gallon Monkey On My Back

korinian
04-15-2006, 12:43 PM
I have a 50,000 gallon IG Vinyl pool that came with the house. I maintained it last year using the local pool shop and then found this forum. I opened it yesterday and was surprised that the algae hadn't gone crazy yet. The temperature in OK is already in the 90's. The water was dirty but not really bad. I shocked the pool and ran the pump through the night and these are my numbers from Ben's Testkit this morning:

FC - 3
CC - 0
TC - 5
pH - 6.8
Alk - 40
Cal - 300
Cya - 100

I'm currently using dy-chlor II with 3' tabs. Last year I used borax and baking soda to adjust the pool but haven't taken the leap to go to bleach. It seems staggering the number of bottles of bleach I'd have to consume to maintain the proper chlorine levels in this pool.

I'm fairly new to pool chemistry and usually mistakes with this size pool seem to cost me $$$. Before I do anything else I thought I'd get some advice on what to do next. Thanks for the forum and your help!

- Korinian

duraleigh
04-15-2006, 01:20 PM
Hi, Korinian,

I'll bet we can help you get 'ole J. Fred Muggs (If you know who that is, you're showing your age) off your back, outta' the pool, and back to the zoo where he belongs!!:) :)

Man, that's a big pool!!

1. Get your pH back to at least 7.0....7.2-7.6 is better. You could be lower than 6.8 and not know it with Ben's kit.

2. Clorox is gonna' need to be your Cl vehicle, I'm afraid. (think of all the plastic jugs you'll have for cat-fishing!!)

Your CYA is too high to use any more pucks...they'll just make it worse. You'll probably have to fight pH again, too.

Calcium Hypochlorite adds calcium to your water and you've already got more than most folks....don't need it anyway.

So you end up with Clorox. One of their giant jugs (1.42 gal, I think) should move your Cl almost 2ppm.