PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Shark vs. Dolphin Automatic Cleaners

Deal Svengali
04-14-2006, 10:24 AM
I have read many good reviews of the Dolphin automatic cleaners, the only down side I see is the filters bags. I like the cartridge that the Tiger Shark uses. Is the TigerShark as good as the Dolphin, any downside to the cartridge filter?

EricF
04-14-2006, 11:03 AM
I have no experience with the dolphin, but have owned a tiger shark for 2 years. It is used in a 33,000 gallon gunite rectangular pool. It has performed well, requiring no repairs so far. I use it an average of 1-2 times a week. The filter works well, but like all cartridge type filters, is messy and wet to clean. I still find it necessary to vacuum the pool after storms or high wind as these types of cleaners to not handle a large amount of leaves or debris very well. It is great, however, for routine weekly cleanings. It even does a fairly good job on the steps.

EricF

CarlD
04-14-2006, 11:54 AM
Somewhere I posted the trick I figured out to cleaning the Dolphin bags:

I dunk it in a 5 gal bucket of pool water, squeeze till the water is dirty (sometimes opaque), dump the water and repeat. Then I either let it dry until the next bag is dirty or then toss it/them in the washing machine on a normal cycle, no bleach, and then hang them up to dry.

This is FAR easier, neater, and much more effective than trying to clean the bags with a garden hose. A lot faster, too.

cgc2
04-14-2006, 08:29 PM
Man, if you consider slipping a bag over wire guides and clipping it into place "tuff, hard, or difficult", then I think you may have the wrong impression on the Dolphin.
I can pull it out of the pool, flip it over, remove the bag, dump the sediment,
rinse it off and re-install in about 5 minutes.
Thats the amount of time it would take me to pull my Hayward Navigator out to remove the small stone, acorn, or leaf that would make it in operable.