FC 4.92
TC 4.97
CC 0.0
pH 7.80
hardness 170ppm
Alk 210 ppm
CYA 15 ppm
Salt 2900 ppm

They suggested I use a product called AQUA pH minus to bring down the Alkalinity to between 100 and 120 ppm which is fine. I just wondered if there was a cheaper product that I could use to control the pH and Alk. I am a newbie but still trying to save on costs. I just bought 8kg which is about 17lbs of this stuff for $30 canadian, is that a good price, is there something cheaper? Can i use muratic acid is it cheaper per treatment?

Since I have a SWG I know the tendency is for it to drive the pH up, so I am sure we have to stock up on the appropriate chemicals.

Thanks

waterbear
07-28-2006, 11:08 AM
Muriatic acid is much cheaper and much more effective. It is also the first choice with a SWG since it will not add sufates to your water. pH minus is sodium bisulfate.
When you use muriatic acid to neutralize the high pH the end product is once again salt!
BTW, most SWG manufacturers remcommend running your CYA at 60-80 ppm. This will allow your cell to operate at a lower setting and will help keep the pH from rising as quickly.l
To lower your TA see this thread
http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=191

KurtV
07-28-2006, 11:25 AM
Canuck,
Neither pH Minus nor muriatic acid will lower you alkalinity permanently. Those products are used to lower you pH. To lower alkalinity you'll have the follow the procedures outline here: http://www.poolforum.com/pf2/showthread.php?t=191.

If you're not have trouble controlling your pH (unlikely, it will probably tend to rise with your high alk and the SWG) and you're not getting calcium build up (scale) on anything, you might be able to live with your alkalinity as it is.

Best of luck.

CanuckPool
07-28-2006, 11:35 AM
I read that post, it seems the only difference is that you aeriate while you are lowering your pH/Alk and to do it gradually.

Can lowering your Alk this way keep it permanently low? or is it an ongoing type treatment.